About Us

We pride ourselves on being the leading Lehigh Valley provider for healthy, medically-tailored meals. Beyond simply providing a meal, Meals on Wheels is dedicated to providing customized meals that are designed by a licensed nutritionist to meet 1/3 of the Recommended Daily Allowance and accommodate special diets such as diabetic, renal, pureed, and some food allergies. Nearly 2,000 seniors and people with disabilities depend on us every day to deliver meals directly to their homes and senior centers. We incorporate local seasonal produce into our meals when possible.

Our History

While Meals on Wheels of the Greater Lehigh Valley is a new organization, it has nearly a century’s worth of experience  providing quality care and services to seniors and adults with disabilities. Our services include grocery shopping, pet food/supply delivery, emergency meals, and more.

Meals on Wheels of Lehigh County’s history dates back to 1970, when a task force of concerned citizens began meeting with Lehigh County Commissioners to address the problem of malnutrition among seniors. On Feb. 1, 1971, 50 volunteers from Meals on Wheels of Lehigh County delivered a hot meal and cold bagged meal to 9 clients on 3 separate routes.

Also in 1971, the Mayor of Bethlehem’s Task Force on Health and Welfare started Meals on Wheels of Northampton County (then called Bethlehem Area) to provide nutritious and well-balanced meals Monday through Friday to seniors, homebound individuals, and adults with disabilities. Under the direction of Board President Dr. Edwin Frey, the Meals on Wheels board and staff began serving meals to 15 clients on Valentine’s Day, 1972.

In the fall of 2016, the Board of Directors from both these organizations began to meet to explore the possibility of a merger. A synergy grant from the Lehigh Valley Community Foundation and the United Way of the Greater Lehigh Valley fueled this process. After 2 years of collaboration and 3 distinct phases of planning, Meals on Wheels of the Greater Lehigh Valley officially began on Sept. 1, 2018.

Meet The Team

Management

Vicki Coyle

CEO

vickic@mowglv.org

Year Started with Meals on Wheels: 2018

Years of Experience in Field of Work: 20

What I Like Most About My Job: All the people, whether they are staff, volunteers or clients. This agency brings out the best of humanity in the people who serve and are served. I love learning things about our clients. They are artists, veterans, storytellers, steelworkers, homemakers, and more. “Homebound” applies to their physical status, but doesn’t begin to describe their value or contributions they have made to our communities. Supporting volunteers, developing new programs, and working with other agency partners are keys to enhancing the health and well-being of our clients, and I’m proud to be part of the team.

I’d Like You to Know: I am a strong supporter of “buy fresh, buy local.” You will see me regularly at a weekend farmers’ market or shopping in local Lehigh Valley stores or restaurants. I love supporting this community, whether it is through my work or my spending. When I’m not eating, you can find me walking on local trails, knitting, or engaging in dog sports.

Cindy Hay

Cindy Hay

CFO

cindyh@mowglv.org
Year Started Here: 2001
Years of Experience in My Field: 38

Nick Nonnemacher

Nick Nonnemacher

Dir. of Food Services

nickn@mowglv.org
Year Started Here: 2013
Years of Experience in My Field: 20

Monica McCandless

Monica McCandless

Dir. of Client Services

monicam@mowglv.org
Year Started Here: 2002
Years of Experience in My Field: 16

Dawn Stillwagen

Dawn Stillwagen

Dir. of Volunteer Services (Lehigh Cty)

dawns@mowglv.org
Year Started Here: 2000
Years of Experience in My Field: 25

Keri Young

Keri Young

Dir. of Volunteer Services (Northampton Cty)

kerig@mowglv.org
Year Started Here: 2009
Years of Experience in My Field: 9

Cori Rolón

Cori Rolón

Director of Development & Communications

Other Staff Positions

Client Services

Dana Kenney, M.S.W. – danak@mowglv.org

Tracey Huffmantraceyh@mowglv.org

Brandy Padillabrandyp@mowglv.org

Pat Peterspatp@mowglv.org

LaCrisha Vasquez, M.S.W. – lacrishav@mowglv.org

Margarita Serranomargaritas@mowglv.org

Development

Jamie Rzeszowskijamier@mowglv.org

Jim Watersjimw@mowglv.org

Finance & Administration

Dorothy Mason Bloomdorothyb@mowglv.org

Janelle Longenbachjlanellel@mowglv.org

Denise VasquezDenisev@mowglv.org

Food Services

FOOD SERVICES

Bob Adamsboba@mowglv.org

 

Volunteer Services

Bethany Graybethanyg@mowglv.org

Melinda Mayermelindam@mowglv.org

Board of Directors

2018-2019

Executive Committee

President – Patricia Schoenen, retired – Schoenen’s Market

Vice President – Michael Santanasto, The Law Office of Michael A. Santanasto, Esq., LLC

Secretary – Elizabeth Laylon, retired – St. Luke’s Hospital

Treasurer – Rosemary Lamaestra, CPA, CFE, RLB Accountants

 

Members

Jerry Beaver, retired – St. Luke’s Hospital

Patricia Blahnik, Wells Fargo Bank

Ben Eichman, Oaktree Advisors

Carrie Fleckenstein, St. Luke’s Center for Positive Aging

Ed Flowerdew, Boyle Construction, Inc.

Lothar Gumberich, retired – Penn State Berks-Lehigh Valley

 

Members

Pamela Koons-Hartnett, St. Luke’s Hospital

Kimberly Laurito, American Bank

Rev. Ray Malec, Concordia Lutheran Church

Cindy Merritt, Buckno Lisicky & Co.

David M. Romanelli, CFP, Morgan Stanley

Justin Ryan, Lehigh Valley Industrial Park, Inc.

Donna M. Zimmerman, retired – Lehigh County Office of Aging & Adult Services

Clients served each day

TOTAL MEALS MADE IN 2018

%

clients are 75 or over

Let Us Help You

Thanks for your interest in Meals on Wheels of the Greater Lehigh Valley. We look forward to helping you or your loved ones today.